Hunk of burning love named Mr. Habitat

His royal highness … Everyone’s friend Brad Klein, by channeling Elvis at the Mr. Habitat 2011 competition, won the crown. His first costume was as Elvis in white, and the second Elvis costume was in black and silver — with blue suede shoes! First runner up with his beer-can tool belt was Clark Winslow, and coming in second and third were Ronnie Ramirez and Mike Blueitt. People’s Choice award went to Kevin Steele. Also working their stuff on stage were Gordon Williams, Chuck King, James Johnson and Shane Howard. Cheering and encouraging their favorite contestants were Katherine Klein, Heather and Mark Petkovsek, Casey Winslow, Erika and Jefferson Winslow, Dana and Tony Archibald, Maureen Croley, Jennifer and Kirk Smith, Melissa and Lenny Caballero, Delores and Mack Golson, Blair and Charlie Foxworth, Frankie Randazzo, Mike Pennington, Hester and Milton Bell, Dalanna and Braxton Bennett, Iris and Jerry Nathan, Laura Sport, Derek Akins, Annie Green, Leslie Edwards, Chris Bean, Annie Tyner, Nicole Clark, Michael Sparks, Jacqueline Wing, Joy and Will Crenshaw, Lisa and Zack Pickett, and Robin and Lee Williams, to name a few. Super supporter of her offspring Anne Winslow was front and center after having breast cancer surgery a week earlier (Her mantra is get a mammogram!). Ashley Gaston and Brian Glenn did a great job keeping the contestants on task as organized judges Bobbie Applegate, Barbara Quinn and Christine Stetson tallied the votes for the guys. Organizing this worthwhile event was a fete in itself, but an easy task for Shelley Filla, Nancy McGrade, Uliana Trylowski, Shelly Vitanza and Carolyn McGuire. Can’t wait to see who will receive the gold hammer and hardhat in 2012!

Supporting CASA … Judge Randy Shelton of the 279th District Court administered the CASA oath to seven community members and two new CASA staff members who completed 33 hours of intensive training to become special advocates for children in the Jefferson County foster care system. Kudos to Deborah Madar, Evelyn Delacruz, Edith Partlow, Lasonne Lester, Elizabeth Wright, Brandon Aten, Rebecca Howard, Irish Lewis and Wendy Frederick. And congrats!

Elements of entertainment … Christus Health Foundation-Southeast Texas announced recently that Earth, Wind and Fire will headline the foundation’s 31st annual Benefit Gala, set for Saturday, April 9, at the Beaumont Civic Center. This fabulous group is one of the most musically accomplished, critically acclaimed bands of all times, winning six Grammy and four American Music Awards. They are members of both the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame and the Vocal Group Hall of Fame. Earth, Wind and Fire continues to engage new audiences while remaining an all time favorite of their loyal fans. Because of their unique sound and wide appeal, this one time intimate performance is expected to sell out quickly! The foundation, along with gala chairs Cindy and Jamie Dishman, will pay tribute to Valero for its support of renovations at the pediatric unit at Christus Hospital-St. Mary. The black tie benefit will provide an unforgettable evening of entertainment starting with cocktails at 7 p.m. followed by a gourmet meal at 8 p.m., all leading to Earth, Wind and Fire’s performance at 9:30 p.m. Tables for eight start at $3,000. Seating is limited. To learn more or to receive a personalized invitation, call (409) 899-7555.

Magical Mamma Mia … Beaumont native Barbara Knight was thrilled to witness daughter Chloe Tucker in one of the leading roles as Sophia in the road company production of “Mamma Mia,” performed this past weekend in Orange at the Lutcher Theater. Proud grandparents Betty and Harvey Knight and great uncle Ralph Knight attended the performance Saturday evening. Barbara’s good friend Paige Windham was allowed backstage for a visit with Chloe after the Saturday matinee performance.

Wedded bliss and staying power...diva Betty Greenberg and hubby Sheldon celebrated 65 years of marriage last week. Congratulations to one of Beaumont’s most fun loving couples!

Candles and cakes … Champagne toasts to Robby Tortorice, Ally Rayzor, Butch Wenner, Mike Phelan, Kyle Hayes, Will Crenshaw, Sandy Eaves, Paula Ede, Tanner Hunt, Lula Potter, Jennifer Swantner and Denise Truncale.

Until the next RSVP!