Symphony debs, escorts have a ball

Symphony debs, escorts have a ball

Dazzling debs ... Feted at a slew of stellar parties over the last several months, the 2010 Symphony League of Beaumont presented the 21 beautiful debutants at the 49th Debutant Ball at the Beaumont Country Club this past Saturday evening. The BCC was decorated from floor to ceiling - Who would expect anything less from ball chair Nicole Saba? - and debs, escorts, family and friends were truly impressed. Overall chairpersons Mary Jane Benning and Gina Crenshaw along with chairs Cathy Hawa, Melissa Cornwell, Kim Steinhagen, Gillian Maness, Stacey Crenshaw, Frances Bethea, Carol Smith, Bonnie Cokinos and other Symphony League members were thrilled with the enchanted evening. Darling debs Taylor Wolfrom, Hannah Swain, Lauren Straighter, Lauren Stout, Kathryn Phelan, Rachel Parker, Layla Nejad, Mary Margaret LeMasters, Madeline Kujawski, Madeline Horning, Catherine Holtmyer, Amanda Dykeman, Emily Dees, Mary Coffman, Mary Catherine Clark, Lauren Cain, Laura Broussard, Sarah Bean, Anne Bean and Yasmine Afshar made their family and friends very proud. During an excellent job escorting the debs were Trenton Almond, Carter Clarke, Caleb Cooper, Zachary Cross, Brookes Cunningham, Evan DeLord, Andrew Dunnam, Hunter Ewing, Eric Johnson Jr., Hunter Jones, Alan King, Gramm Klein, Lucas Mackan, Andrew Messina, Nima Motiee, Benjamin Peyton, Dennis Phelan, Cameron Roane, Crayton Strouse and Robert Wong. Memories of the fantastic night will stay with these future leaders for a lifetime!

Hopeful harvest ... The eighth annual Harvest of Hope Gala, the main fundraiser to benefit Catholic Charities of Southeast Texas, will be held Saturday, Nov. 13. This year's event will pay special tribute to 10 priests associated with the Diocese of Beaumont who are marking their Golden Jubilees (50 or more years in the priesthood) in 2010. The gala will begin with cocktails at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and a tribute to the honorees at 7 p.m. at the MCM Eleganté Hotel at Interstate 10 and Washington Boulevard in Beaumont. Martin Broussard will serve as this year's chair of the soiree and is elated about honoring the Rev. Msgr. Michael Jamail, the Rev. Telesforo Blanco, and the Rev. George Kalappura (all who have 50 years of service). In addition, other active clergy to be honored will be the Rev. Luis Urriza, the Rev. Msgr. James Vanderholt and retired priests the Rev. Msgr. Salvador Culotta, the Rev. Msgr. James Dempsey, the Rev. Msgr. John DiStefano, the Rev. Clement Iglesias and Rev. Msgr. Colonel Walter Montondon. Sharing master of ceremonies duties are 12 News KBMT anchors Jackie Simien and Kevin Steele. For ticket or table information, call Catholic Charities at (409) 924-4421.

Holiday greetings ... The Arc of Beaumont held its Holiday Card Kickoff this past Saturday as an enthusiastic crowd of high school students gathered for a morning neighborhood campaign orientation and pep rally. Joey Armstrong and Miss Teen Texas Sydney Datcher led the morning activities accompanied by the West Brook High School drum line and the awesome Stars. Honorary co-chairs Kelli and Bob Phillips emceed the festive evening dinner that honored 30-plus talented card artists and their generous sponsors. Greeting guests were Arc president, Paula Pratt, Brenda Sullivan and card chair Patrice Rabalais. Sponsors enjoying the holiday atmosphere were Sarah and Mike Matheny, Lynda Kay and James Makin, Elizabeth and Russ Waddill, Renee and Carl Hubbell, Janice and Mitch Watkins, Jean and Hans Sheridan, Cindy Bloodsworth, Wendy Robbins, Vivian Pieternelle, Lisa Sudela and Robert Bertrand. Precious artists seizing congratulatory moments included Gentry Lovett, Brandon Pieternelle, Matthew Bloodsworth, Timmy Schreck and Brandi Herron. As the memorable evening concluded, renewed holiday spirit was shared among Sallye Keith, Cary and Frank Coffin, and Laura and Kim McMurray. Kudos to Cooks Two Dozen for their dedication and delightful cuisine. Mark your calendar to purchase your cards at numerous locations in Southeast Texas including Market Basket stores, DuPont Goodrich Federal Credit Union branches, Fred Miller's and several other locations, or visit the Arc Web site at

Candles and cakes ... Birthday wishes to Patricia Bullard, Janci Kimball, Rachel Carona, Brenda White, R.C. Tortorice, Carolyn Wood, Anne Winslow, Catherine Klein, Jo Vance, Mindy Eisen, Melody Parsons, Carter Christie, Kevin Chirafis, Brandon Gouthier, Mike Albanese, Brad Klein, Bart Owens, Elizabeth Waddill, Walker Reese, Mark Petkovsek and Cindy Busch.

Until the next R.S.V.P!