A&M Club names 2016 Outstanding Teachers

A&M logo

The Beaumont A&M Club is celebrating area educators at its 57th annual Classroom Teacher Awards Program and Dinner on Sept. 27 at 6:30 p.m. at St. Jude Catholic Church at 6825 Gladys.

Seven local honorees will receive awards for excellence in education, announced Beaumont A&M Club Chairman Michael Wolf. The honorees are Yvette Drake of Charlton-Pollard Elementary School, Becky Simmons of Odom Academy Middle School, Melissa Fontenot of Central Medical Magnet High School, Jerrilynn Miller of Monsignor Kelly High School, Shonté Leonard of Clifton J. Ozen Magnet High School, Vicki McCown of West Brook High School and Jola Kay Waggener of the Paul Brown Center.

Each honoree will receive a check for $200 from the John K. Mattingly Memorial Fund, a Certificate of Recognition, and an engraved silver tray from the Beaumont A&M Club.

Wolf reports that teachers were selected by their colleagues for exemplary performance in the teaching profession.

“The Beaumont A&M Club is privileged to honor them,” he said. “This annual ceremony is a tribute to the many excellent classroom teachers who have chosen as their profession the education of our community’s youth. It is intended to recognize innovative and results-oriented teachers and to raise public awareness of the importance of effective and committed teachers.”

Keynote speaker at this year’s program will be Vernice Monroe, a veteran educator in the area of social work at Lamar University and a member of the BISD Board of Managers.