Beaumont Foundation announces 2014 Reaud Excellence In Education recipients

Gathering to congratulate Summer Diamond

The Beaumont Foundation has announced the winners of the Reaud Excellence in Education Awards as part of its ongoing commitment to support education. The foundation created the awards to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of teachers whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning. The program provides public recognition and financial rewards to educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education.

The 15 recipients were selected from an impressive collection of nominations submitted by schools throughout Southeast Texas. Wayne A. Reaud, chairman of board, said, “Education is the key to a better future and great teachers are the key to education. Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education.”

Summer Diamond, fifth grade English/language arts teacher at Little Cypress Intermediate, was selected as a 2014 Reaud Excellence in Education Award recipient. She was surprised Friday, March 21, when a “short staff meeting” following school turned into an announcement of her selection for this prestigious recognition.

Diamond and other Reaud award winners will be feted at a reception in their honor on May 1 at the Mary and John Gray Library. Along with the honor of this recognition, the recipients will also receive a cash award of $10,000.

2014 Reaud Excellence in Education Recipients


Dianne Kingston, Pietzsch-MacArthur Elementary School, Beaumont ISD

Joyce Elender, Highland Park Elementary, Nederland ISD

Summer Diamond, Little Cypress Intermediate School, Little Cypress - Mauriceville CISD

Corina Long, Kountze Intermediate School, Kountze ISD

Lori Burton, Jean C. Few Primary School, Jasper ISD

Middle School:

Daniel L. Martinez, Marshall Middle School, Beaumont ISD

Carol McKeever, Central Middle School, Nederland ISD

Tracy Maines, Vidor Junior High School, Vidor ISD

Ramon Ramos, Henderson Middle School, Hardin-Jefferson ISD

Brandi Moore, Warren Jr. High, Warren ISD

High School:

Lori Abel, West Brook High School, Beaumont ISD

Dr. Patricia L. Spears, Memorial High School, Port Aruthur ISD

Cathy Parks Riley, Bridge City High School, Bridge City ISD

Patti Palmer Roberts, Lumberton High School, Lumberton ISD

Renee Lee, Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School, Diocese of Beaumont



Reaud Award Winners 2014

I too am one of the Reaud Award winners for 2014. How can I get a copy of your publication in which the story of the awards was published?

We are actually going to

We are actually going to press with the story this week and I would like to interview you regarding the award. Please call me at (409)832-1400.

Please contact me at

Please contact me at 409-332-2663. You are welcome to come to my classroom at any time. You can reach me at the above number or at 409- 409-543-05784-4000 ext. 3015.

Reply to Kevin King

Mr. King, I just saw your note. I happened to have been looking through Google sites about the award because I'd been discussing the awards with a friend eatluer tonight. I would be happy to speak with you at your earliest convenience. You are welcome to visit my classroom at Memorial High in Port Arthur if you'd like. There you can really get a good idea of my teaching methodology, classroom management style, rapport with my students, or my "babies" as I call them. You can reach me after noon at either (409) 409-984-4000 ext.3015.Ask for Dr. Spears or my cell is (409) 332-2663.Thank you for reaching out to me.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.