Committee formed to search for Simmons' replacement

Lamar President Jimmy Simmons

The Texas State University System announced Tuesday, Sept. 11, the advisory search committee that will guide the process of selecting the next president of Lamar University. Lamar's President Simmons has announced that, after a 14-year tenure, he will officially step down Jan. 31, 2013.

Charlie Amato, chairman of the TSUS Board of Regents, has appointed regent Rossanna Salazar as chair of the committee, and regent David Montagne as vice chair. Other regents serving on the committee will be Bill Scott and Dr. Jaime Garza.

Several university faculty members will serve on the committee: S. Quoc-Nam Tran, professor of computer science and president of the Faculty Senate; Pam Saur, Regents Professor and University Professor of German; James Westgate, Piper Professor and University Professor of geology; Amy Shows, professor of family and consumer sciences; Ku-yen Li, Regents Professor and University Professor of chemical engineering; Jean Andrews, Regents Professor and University Professor of deaf education; Charles Hawkins, Regents Professor and University Professor of economics; Vernice Monroe, associate professor of social work and special assistant to the president for multicultural affairs; Henry Venta, professor and dean of the College of Business.

Also joining the committee are several individuals representing other university communities: Quentin Jiles, president of the Lamar University Student Government Association; Joe Domino, alumnus, ITC Holding Co.; Greg Thompson, former president of Lamar University Foundation, attorney and mediator; Timothy Chargois, alumnus, Lamar Alumni Advisory Board member, superintendent, Beaumont Independent School District; and Mike Aldredge, alumnus, former president of Lamar University Foundation, Mill Creek Land and Cattle Co.

Perry Moore, vice chancellor for academic affairs of The Texas State University System, will visit Lamar Sept. 18-20 to meet with constituencies including the deans, department chairs, Faculty Senate, Staff Advisory Council, student government and the Alumni Advisory Board concerning the presidential search.

Moore will also hold two open meetings to hear about the challenges and opportunities facing the university and qualities desired in the next president. The open meeting will be held in Landes Auditorium in the Galloway Building, 2-3 p.m. Sept. 19, and 9 a.m. to 10 a.m. Sept. 20.