Four LCM High School students accepted as Mirabeau Scholars

Kent Morris and Aaron McCoy, Standing: Trey Mathis, Dr. Estes, Jacob Martin

According to a press release from the Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD Community Relations Coordinator Sherry Combs, four LCM High School seniors were recently accepted into Lamar University’s prestigious Mirabeau Scholars Program.

Jimmy “Trey” Mathis, Jacob Martin, Aaron McCoy and Levi “Kent” Morris all received full four-year scholarships covering tuition, fees, room and board and books. In order to qualify for the program, applicants must be first-time college freshman with minimum SAT scores at 1250 or above or ACT scores of 28 and above. Candidates are considered based academic excellence, leadership, service and/or creative endeavors.

According to Stephen Doblin, provost and vice president for academic affairs, “Mirabeau Scholars are held to a higher level of academic and extra-classroom performance because these students are among our best and brightest.

“Each scholarship carries a value of more than $75,000 over eight semesters of support and covers all expenses. Any scholarships or awards the student receives from sources independent of the university are applied to their account and used first, allowing students to use the Mirabeau funds for academic-related expenses such as research, study abroad, or extended learning with the approval of their department chair, college dean and the provost.”

While in the program, the scholars are expected to participate in the University Honors Program and should be active in student leadership activities, including the student government and peer advisement, and/or in college or departmental undergraduate research or special programs. Housing is provided for scholars at LU’s Cardinal Village residence halls.

LCM High School Principal Terri Estes said she is proud of the students accepted into the program.

“Lamar University requires that the recipients of the Mirabeau Scholar Program demonstrate excellence in academics, leadership, service and/or creative endeavors.  These young men have certainly demonstrated these qualities,” Estes asserted. “We are proud of each and every one of them.  They are fine young men who have worked tirelessly to sharpen their academic skills and serve as leaders on our campus. To have so many students receive this award in one year is a wonderful testimony to their hard work and determination.  They should each be commended on this great accomplishment.”