Student honors Board of Managers for Appreciation Month

Joe Domino

January is School Board Recognition Month and the Beaumont Independent School District is joining other districts across the state to thank local leaders for their dedication and willingness to serve as advocates for our children and public schools.

“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their many contributions reflect a year-round commitment. They generously give of themselves to ensure that decisions directly affecting our local schools are made by representatives of this community, people who are close to our schools and know our teachers, parents, and students,” said Vernon Butler, BISD superintendent.

“Board members shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices. Their ultimate goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district,” Butler added. “It’s more important than ever before that the community supports public education so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Our board members provide vision and leadership in their roles as advocates, and they will continue to stand up for public education and guard against anything that takes away from our children or undermines our public schools.

“Our district benefits from the tireless work and countless hours contributed by these local citizens who work without pay. Please help us thank these dedicated volunteers for their efforts to make a difference and their unfailing commitment to the continued success of our students now and in the future.”

The BISD Board of Managers is made up of board president Jimmy Simmons, with Lenny Caballero, Vernice Monroe, Jack Carroll, A.B. Bernard, Robert Turner and Joe Domino rounding out the group.

Caricatures of each board member and the superintendent were drawn by Triston Lavergne of Alyssa Courts' 6th grade special needs class at Vincent Middle School and presented to the board at their Jan. 22 meeting.