Landry wins 75th city golf tourney

More than 50 players competed in the annual two-day City Championship Golf Tournament at Henry Homberg Golf Club at Tyrrell Park, but it was Darrell Landry who outlasted the field to take home the prize in the 75th edition with scores of 75, 70 for a 36-hole total of 145.

The 18-hole Homberg par 72 course measures 6,786 yards, and Homberg golf pro Andy Hebert said this is the best shape the course has been in for at least 10 years. Competitors had to pay $60 to enter and must be residents of Beaumont.

Landry, who had previously lived in Mid County, just recently moved to Beaumont. He took home a $200 pro shop gift certificate, but more important, the coveted Championship Trophy that includes names such as Bruce Lietzke, C.T. Garth and Ray Moore.

Results in the Champion Flight were Hunter Cooper (2nd, 73-73, 146), David Jones (3rd, 73-74, 147) and C. Baech (75-73) and Jordan Leger (73-75) tied for fourth.

First Flight results were Marc Napier (1st, 70-74, 144), Justin Richard (2nd, 72-72, 151), Chris Nelson (3rd, 77-77, 154) and Price Young (Low Net, 69-72, 151).

Senior Flight scores were Roddy Weatherly (1st, 67-72, 139), Jerry Read (78-77), Larry Morris (78-77) and Cliff Utley (75-80) tied for second with a 155 and Low Net went to Noel Byars (65-69, 134). 

Although the City Tournament started in 1931 (81 years ago), there were no dates from 1964-1969 due to the Vietnam War, and there was no tournament last year due to drought conditions.

C.T. Garth won the first tournament in 1931, and local sharpshooter George Salhab took honors in 1949. Ray Moore, presently a partner at Idlywild Golf Club, captured the honors in 1961 and then Beaumont’s Bruce Lietzke made his run, winning three consecutive years from 1971-73. 

Lietzke, of course, went on to make headlines at the University of Houston and then won 20 events on the professional tour including 13 PGA wins and seven more on the Champions Tour. Lietzke also was on the 1981 Ryder Cup team and finished second in the 1991 PGA Championship. He continues to visit Beaumont each summer to put on a clinic for local boys and girls at Idylwild Golf Club.

In 1984, the current pro at the Tyrrell Park course, Andy Hebert, took the top prize, and Albert Como became the first African American to win in 1986.

Paul Moore, who went on a remarkable four year streak, took home the trophy 1990-93 and then came back to grab the hardware again in 1996 and 1997.

MMA update

Saturday night, Oct. 13, is UFC 153 in Brazil.

Silva, a native of Brazil, offered his services after several fighters pulled off the card due to injury. The current UFC middleweight champion has won his last 16 fights and is expected to end this first earlier, likely a first round KO or TKO.

Five other PPV ($44.99) fights include Dave “Pee Wee” Herman (21-4) vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (33-7-1), Fabio Maldonado (18-5) vs. Glover Teixeira (18-2), Jon Fitch (23-4-1) vs. Erick Silva (14-2), Phil Davis (9-1) vs. Wagner Prado (8-0), and Demain Maia (16-4) vs. Rick Story (18-5). The PPV begins at 9 p.m.

Four prelims will be shown at 7 p.m. on FX including Rony “Jason” Mariano Bezerra (11-3) vs. Sam Sicilia (11-1) and Gleison Tibau (25-8) vs. Francisco Trinaldo (11-1).