Sports Shorts: PN-G Indians win state baseball championship

Sports Shorts: PN-G Indians win state baseball championship

For the first time in school history, the PN-G Indians won the UIL Class 5A state baseball championship by defeating last year’s 5A champion, Grapevine, by the score of 4-2 on June 10 at Dell Diamond in Round Rock.

Senior pitcher Brandon Morse was named the 5A state tournament MVP after throwing a complete 7-inning game for the victory.

Senior Nathan Vidrine, who was the winning pitcher in the 5A state semifinals over Frisco Wakeland, had two RBI, as did junior Austin Bost.

Making the state tournament team were Vidrine, Bost, Hayden Guerra (SR) and Braxton Boudoin (SR).

The Indians finished the season 34-8-2.

The Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association announced its all-state teams. Local players on the list were Bost (5A, 1st Team, First Base, PN-G), Vidrine (5A, 2nd Team, Pitcher, PN-G), Schuyler Thibodaux of Bridge City (4A, 1st Team, Catcher), Ryan Ragsdale of WO-S (4A, 2nd Team, Third Base), Trevis Sundgren of Silsbee (4A, 2nd Team, Third base), Chase Partain of Silsbee (4A, 2nd Team, Shortstop), James Burchett of Kirbyville (3A, 2nd Team, Pitcher), Dawson Askew of Buna (3A, 2nd Team, Catcher), Mathew Bohac of Newton (3A, 1st Team, Shortstop), Tyler Torres of Evadale (2A, 2nd Team, Catcher), Parker Moye of Evadale (2A, 1st Team, First Base).

SETCA Christus weekend

The Southeast Texas Coaches Association Christus All-Star Weekend took place last weekend with several all-star games for the area’s graduated seniors playing softball, volleyball, girls basketball, boys basketball and football.

Due to inclement weather, the softball game set for Lamar University was moved to Crosby High School, where the West Team blanked the East 5-0 on June 8. The East MVP was Alexis LaBure of PN-G and for the West was Kjirstyn Murphy of Goose Creek Memorial.

The volleyball game, as well as both basketball games, was held at East Chambers High School on June 9, and the West Team downed the East, 3-2. Madilyn Miles was named the West MVP and Deweyville’s Kennidee Willis, who will play at Lamar University, was the East MVP.

It was a clean sweep for the East in both boys’ and girls’ basketball as the boys won 82-79 and the girls 53-50.

Courtland Pender of Ozen was named East MVP, and Vincent Perry of Anahuac was named West MVP.

On the girls’ side, Alix Sellers of Lumberston was the East MVP and Barbers Hill’s Kayla Konarik was West MVP.

The football game held at BISD Stadium on June 10 saw a 7-7 halftime tie turn into a 38-7 win for the East led by Deviun Kenebrew of Newton, who was named the team’s MVP. Brock Barbay of Newton was East Offensive MVP, and Alex Reed of LC-M was the East Defensive MVP.

For the West squad, Caleb Jones of Barbers Hill was team MVP; Bobby Burke of Shepherd was West Defensive MVP and Alex Brown of Liberty was West Offensive MVP.

All athletes who were named MVP earned at least a $400 scholarship from the Southeast Texas Coaches Association.


The 2017 Babe Zaharias golf awards were held June 9 inside the Cardinal Club at the Montagne Center at Lamar University.

Karle Hemler of PN-G and Jonathan Miller of Kelly were named Players of the Year. Leadership Award winners were Trey Love of LC-M and Mackenzie Sears of Silsbee.

Finalists were Shelby Seymour (Hardin-Jefferson), Theresa Beckett (LC-M), Elizabeth Townsend (Kelly), Bryanna Bailey (PN-G), Brendan Marley (Nederland), Bryce Shaver (Lumberton), Josh Elmore (PN-G), Trent Kizer (Vidor), Jared Dowdy (West Brook) and Jadon Bell (Nederland).

The STPGA Junior Golf Tournament stopped at Brentwood Country Club on June 12. Winners were Brendan Marley (Boys 15-18, 36), Shelby Johnson (Girls 15-18, 56), Reece Frank and Micah Depew tied (Boys 13-14, 44), Lane Bevilacqua (Boys 13-14, 49), Xander Parks (Boys 11-12, Red, 42), Lincoln Parks (Boys 9-10, Modified, 37), Montana DiLeo (Girls 11-12, Red 49), Tatum Bean (Girls 9-10, 53), Foster Cecka (Co-Ed 6-8, 46), Reagon Frank (Boys 9-10, 5-holes, 25), Ava Borne (Girls 9-10, 5 holes, 29) and Logan Anderson (Co-Ed 6-8, 5-holes modified, 27).