Women’s golf wins fourth SLC title

Women’s golf wins fourth SLC title

Lamar University began the final round of the Southland Conference Tournament four strokes behind leader Central Arkansas, but the Lady Cardinals roared back April 17 in blustery conditions to earn their first league title in women’s golf since 2006 at Frisco Lakes Golf Club with a 54-hole score of 27-over 891, which was seven strokes better than Oral Roberts and Sam Houston State, who both tied for second.

“Our mindset was that we had to go out and win it because this golf course was playing easier than we’re used to,” said LU head coach Brian White. “We had to go out and shoot a good score. We played great yesterday (round 2), and today I said we’re going to do the same thing. We’re attacking, we’re chasing, we’re only four strokes back and we’re the best team. If you do what you’re supposed to do, we should be fine.”

Lamar, which won Southland titles in 2003, 2005 and 2006, picked up its fourth conference crown to lead all league schools. Not only did Lamar win its fourth tournament title this year, but the Lady Cardinals also picked up the Southland Conference’s automatic berth into the 2013 NCAA Golf Championship. It will be Lamar’s third trip to NCAA Regionals as a team and first since 1995.

“I can’t be more excited about going to the NCAA Tournament,” said White. “Having won three other conference tournaments and the team not getting to move on was just such a shame. It’s really exciting that they get to move on and have another chance to play.”

Junior Katelyn McDougal led LU with a fourth-place finish in the field of 35 with a 5-over 221. Sophomore Nghi Ngo tied for fifth with a 6-over 222, and Julie Aimie tied for eighth with a 7-over 223.

Other LU players include freshman Taylor Stockton (11th, 225) and redshirt junior Lauren Van Gerven (T31, 239).

Aime and Ngo were then named to the SLC first team, and White was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

The Lady Cards will learn what NCAA Regional opponent they will face on April 29, when the pairings are announced.