Pioneering Women

Dorrie Adolph introduces the Pioneering Women 2018 honorees.
Unveiling of Honorees

Pioneering Women unveiled its 2018 honorees Wednesday March 6. The honorees included Ava Graves, Aggie In, Verlie Nobles, Norma Sampson and Robin Mouton. Each year Pioneering Women, a nonprofit organization that honors women in the community and celebrates the 19th amendment, picks a handful of women as its yearly honorees.


In celebration of Women’s History Month, Pioneering Women unveiled the honorees for the non-profit’s annual luncheon during a ceremony at the Beaumont City Hall on Tuesday, March 21. Those women pegged for the distinction in 2017 include Camille Briggs, Japera Levine, Allison Getz, Faye Woodsmall, Jane Hebert, Ingrid Holmes and Dee Richard.

Past honorees have included Beaumont Mayor Becky Ames, Councilwoman Gethrel “Get” Williams-Wright, and many, many others over the more than 15 years Pioneering Women has been honoring local ladies.

Elaine Shellenberger, Gail Showalter, Ines Alvidres, Janet Floyd, Kristi Young,
Mayor Becky Ames speaks at the Pioneering Women event at Beaumont City Hall.

March 2016 is almost behind us as we look forward to April showers and May flowers, but Women’s History Month will not only be remembered for the advent of spring, but also for hosting the first glimpse of Southeast Texas’ Women Who Mean Business.

Mary Ann Reid, Estrelda Sonnier, Mary Simon and Carol Fernandez

In recognition of Women’s History Month, Pioneering Women picked the last day in March to reveal the 2015 Leading Ladies honorees to be featured at the non-profit’s annual luncheon, hosting dozens of supporters, members and past honorees during a celebration held at a packed Beaumont City Hall.


Pioneering Women is recognizing five honorees for their volunteer efforts in the community and celebrating the 19th Amendment, which gave women the right to vote, at “The Amazing Greats” luncheon Thursday, Aug. 7. The event promises to be fun and informative for all who attend, says Pioneering Women founder Georgine Guillory.