Delores Black, Lamar University photo

Friday, Feb. 16, the Texas State University System (TSUS) Board of Regents recognized two Texas State University educators and Lamar University employee Delores Black for outstanding performance and commitment to the mission of their institutions.

Dr. Debra Feakes, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Dr. David Nolan, associate professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, were honored as 2017 Regents’ Teachers.

handgun in holster

At its May 26 meeting, the 10-member Texas State University System Board of Regents approved the official concealed handgun policy for Lamar University students, employees and visitors that will go into effect Aug. 1.

The policy, created to comply with Senate Bill 11 and now posted online, pertains to individuals licensed to carry a handgun under Texas law. The policy addresses concealed carry of handguns only. Open carry of handguns remains unlawful on the LU campus or premises.


The Board of Regents of the Texas State University System May 26 approved campus-specific policies regarding the possession of concealed handguns at the system’s eight member institutions, including Lamar University in Beaumont. The policies, which take effect Aug. 1, were approved during the board’s quarterly meeting at Texas State University’s Round Rock campus.

Dr. Lonnie L. Howard

Texas State University System Chancellor Brian McCall has named Lonnie L. Howard, Ph.D., sole finalist in the Lamar Institute of Technology presidential search. Dr. Howard, currently president/CEO of Clover Park Technical College in Lakewood, Washington, was selected from a field of nearly 40 candidates following a national search.

Donna Blaisdell (right)

(Lamar press release)

Donna Blaisdell has become The Texas State University System’s first ever recipient of the TSUS Regents’ Staff Member Award. The award was presented today at the TSUS board meeting in San Marcos.


The Texas State University System announced Tuesday, Sept. 11, the advisory search committee that will guide the process of selecting the next president of Lamar University. Lamar's President Simmons has announced that, after a 14-year tenure, he will officially step down Jan. 31, 2013.